Graphic from Excel to Scientific Workplace

LMolina's picture

Hello all,

I am new at Scientific workplace, and i hope you could help me with the following:

I have some graphics at Excel (microsoft Office) and i want to paste them in to a Standard Latex- Blank Standard Latex Article  in Scientific workplace.

If i copy it from Excel and paste it directly to the SWP white page, when i click on the pdf preview the image is incomplete: Not all the number in the axis and the labels of the axis appear (It is a simple bar chart).

If i copy it from Excel and paste it in to Microsoft Office Word as a metaenhanced file, and the copy it from word and paste it to the white page of SWP i get a terrible resolution: some times the numbers in the axis are to wide (like in bold) so that it is imposible to understand them.

What is it that i am doing wrong.

Thank you all in advance, i will really really appreciate your help.

LM

John MacKendrick's picture

When you copy/paste from a

When you copy/paste from a Microsoft Office product, the product places multiple versions on the clipboard.  SW works best with a Windows Metafile, but sees the Enhanced Metafile on the clipboard. A method that works for some cases is to copy the graphics, then in an Office product use Paste Special to select the Windows Metafile version, then copy/paste from this temporary location into SW.

vandycktoon's picture

I believe I have a solution

I believe I have a solution for this problem. Although exporting the graph as a Windows Metafile is a valid option, you experience some loss of quality when you compile the pdf file with SWP.

I use Scientific Workplace 5.5, Excel 2010 and Powerpoint 2010.

1. If you have a graph or figure in Excel, copy-paste it to Powerpoint (as a Microsoft Office Graphic Object, default). Maximise the graph such that it covers the entire slide. You can adjust the size of the slide via Design > Page setup.